R/W Task #12: Banned Books

Article Click here!

This article talks about books in libraries and schools. It mentions that ALA has wanted to eliminate or ban many of the books. Also, I can point out that in the Covid 19 pandemic many people had to find a way to read books and most people did it digitally. At the same time comes the thought that people can make their own books and at the same time it is at the discretion of the person if he/she will read it. To be able to remove a book from different platforms would be people influenced by bigger people because the story would be harmful to society. On the other hand, if we think the people who should have the right and the only one are the authors of these books. According to this article it seems to me that its Pro and Con are effective for different people. Parents today have access to the internet, especially children who are monitored more because they are in a growing season. For teens/young adults they themselves can be aware of where they can look for information and especially what they can read. My parents when I was little were aware of my social networks and especially the information I was looking for. The reality is that when parents enter your information, it is like invading your private life but at the same time, it is like a level of protection because they want you to be well. As far as I can remember in my journey of reading in English I have never heard of a book being banned. But, maybe at some point they mentioned one to me but not as far as I remember. In other words, books are stories or experiences that people want to tell, that’s why books should be banned unless they are explicit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *